New California Paid Sick Leave Law in Effect
California’s new sick leave law took effect January 1, however, the right to accrue and take sick leave under this law does not take effect until July 1, 2015. This means an employee qualifies for paid sick leave by working for an employer on or after January 1, 2015, for at least 30 days within a year in California and by satisfying a 90 day employment period (which works like a probationary period) before an employee can actually take any sick leave. Here’s a link to the webpage from the State of California: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/
With January 1, being the effective date, this law means that for San Francisco and Oakland businesses, the sick leave hour accrual begins after 30 days, as opposed to 90, beginning July 1, 2015.