The Saucy Awards

We were thrilled to celebrate the Bay Area’s outstanding restaurant and bar community at the Third Annual Saucy Awards on November 12, 2018.

The Saucy Awards are industry-driven awards recognizing the excellence of the San Francisco Bay Area culinary community.

Check out the 2018 nominees below, winners highlighted in bold! For a glimpse into the evening you can head over HERE.

The Saucy Awards® are by the restaurant industry and for the restaurant industry, with an open nomination process for 19 of the 21 total awards representing 6 categories in hospitality and one additional special designation award for lifetime achievement.

Every year the GGRA chooses to honor an individual who has supported the industry with leadership, innovation and overall excellence. This year’s recipient was Executive Chef and Co-Owner of Boulevard Restaurant – Nancy Oakes.

Nancy has spent much of her adult life feeding others and has achieved success that most others only dream. Nancy’s flagship establishment – Boulevard Restaurant – has earned numerous local, national and international accolades including the James Beard Award for Best Chef in California and the James Beard Award for Outstanding Restaurant in the USA .

Nancy’s success as a chef/restaurateur is only one way she has excelled at feeding others. For the past 12 years, Nancy has also been Gala Chef Chair for the Meals on Wheels of San Francisco annual fundraiser. During her time as Chair, more than $23.4 million has been raised equating to roughly 4.7 million meals for San Francisco’s homebound seniors!

Chef of the Year presented by Open Table

  • Kim Alter of Nightbird
  • Kyle Connaughton of SingleThread Farms
  • Alex Hong of Sorrel
  • David Nayfeld of Che Fico

Pastry Chef of the Year presented by Mr. Espresso

  • Lori Baker of Bluestem Brasserie
  • Kim Conroy of Lazy Bear
  • Angela Pinkerton of Che Fico
  • Elisabeth Prueitt of Tartine Bakery, Tartine Manufactory

Rising Star Chef of the Year presented by TriMark

  • Mel Lopez & Joyce Conway of Pearl 6101
  • Heena Patel of Besharam
  • Jason Raffin of Comstock Saloon
  • Nite Yun of Nyum Bai

Sous Chef of the Year presented by Williams Sonoma Professional Chefs

  • Steven Hutchings of The Commissary
  • Thomas Rodgers of Sorrel
  • Pujan Sarkar of ROOH
  • Taylor Zoller of Lazy Bear

Restaurateur of the Year presented by OpenTable

  • Traci Des Jardins of Jardinière, The Commissary, Arguello, Mijita, School Night, Public House, TRANSIT
  • Anjan & Emily Mitra of DOSA, dosa by DOSA
  • Boris Nemchenok of Uva Enoteca, Fiorella, Violet’s
  • Adriano Paganini of Beretta, Lolinda, a Mano, Super Duper Burgers, Flores, Delarosa, Starbelly, Uno Dos Tacos, The Bird, Barvale, El Techo, Belga

Beverage Professional of the Year

  • Kevin Diedrich of Pacific Cocktail Haven
  • Christopher Longoria of Che Fico
  • Simone Mims of Nico
  • Nicolas Torres of True Laurel

Employee of the Year presented by Pared

  • Juan Aguilar of NOPA
  • David Chan of Souvla
  • Tasha Rodriguez of Sorrel
  • Rene Sanchez of Media Noche

Manager of the Year presented by Marie Trimble Holvick, Gordon & Rees LLP

  • Andrew Fuentes of Eight Tables
  • Cecily Kllanxhja of ABV
  • Giovanni Pugliese of Michael Mina
  • Emma Rosenbush of Cala

Outstanding Industry Service Provider - Partner

  • Mr. Espresso
  • San Francisco Wine School
  • Stratton Agency
  • The City POS

Outstanding Industry Service Provider - Supplier

  • Eco-Pliant
  • GreenLeaf
  • Morchella Wild Foods
  • Tsar Nicoulai Caviar

Exceptional Full-Service Restaurant of the Year presented by Georgopoulos & Economidis LLP

  • Acquerello
  • Californios
  • China Live
  • SingleThread Farms

Exceptional Fast-Casual Restaurant of the Year presented by NFP

  • Deli Board
  • Media Noche
  • Noon All Day
  • The Bird

Exceptional Non-Brick & Mortar Restaurant of the Year presented by Gather

  • Alicia’s Tamales Los Mayas
  • Likha Eats
  • Pinoy Heritage
  • Primavera

Exceptional Specialty Food Establishment of the Year presented by Greenleaf

  • Cinderella Bakery
  • Coletta Gelato
  • Kahnfections
  • Healdsburg SHED

Wine Program of the Year

  • Saison
  • Tofino Wines
  • The Morris
  • The Progress

Cocktail Program of the Year

  • Benjamin Cooper
  • Pacific Cocktail Haven
  • The Interval at Long Now
  • True Laurel

Beer Program of the Year

  • Fat Angel
  • Hog’s Apothecary
  • Old Devil Moon
  • Radhaus

Community Spirit of the Year presented by Comcast Business

  • 4505 Burgers & BBQ
  • BV Hospitality
  • Cala
  • NOPA

Sustainable Restaurant of the Year

  • Gather
  • Jardinière
  • SingleThread Farms
  • STEM Kitchen & Garden

People's Choice presented by SF Magazine

  • ‘āina
  • a Mano
  • Bob’s Steak & Chop House
  • Scoma’s

Lifetime Achievement

  • Nancy Oakes, GGRA Lifetime Achievement Award Presented by the Golden Gate Restaurant Association

Guidelines for each award and nominating criteria can be found here: The Saucy Awards Guidelines.


This event benefits our non-profit, the Golden Gate Restaurant Association Scholarship & Education Foundation (GGRASF), as a part of our initiative to advance & support the local hospitality industry.

For more information please review our Fact Sheet here.

This incredible event would not be possible without the generous support of our sponsors.

If you are interested in sponsoring the 2019 Saucy Awards email Scott Tashjian, Events & Sponsorship Manager: scott[at]ggra[dot]org.

Thank you again to the generous support of our 2018 sponsors: